2013 UNT Alumni Awards

Two Foundation Directors Honored

Alumni Awards is an annual event that recognizes the outstanding achievement, service and support of UNT's alumni and friends.  This year, two of the Foundation's Board of Directors received this honor.


C. Dean Davis'53

Generations of Excellence Award

This award is given to a family for extraordinary service to and advocacy for UNT through multiple generations.  The family of C. Dean Davis, founder and senior managing shareholder of Davis Fuller Jackson and Keene law firm in Austin and former chairman of the UNT board of Regents, has a rich history with UNT that spans more than 100 years.  Since 1910, nearly 40 members of his extended family have attended the university, including his parents, daughter and many aunts, uncles and cousins.  While at UNT, Davis was involved in student government and was a national debate champion before earning an honors degree in government and economics.  Davis earned the university's highest honor, the Distinguished Alumni Award, in 1990.

Sam Golden'74

Distinguished Alumni Award

First presented in 1965, this is the university's most prestigious award and is given to individuals who have achieved prominence in their profession, thereby reflecting a positive image of UNT. With nearly 34 years of executive leadership experience in the financial services industry, Sam Golden currently serves as co-CEO of Alvarez & Marsal Financial Industry Advisory Services in Houston. As well as being a member of the Foundation Board of Directors, Sam is involved in the Chilton Society, the 1890 Society and a lifetime member of the UNT Alumni Association.  He is also chairman of the finance Council at Gethsemane Missionary Baptist Church and has served in a variety of leadership roles with the Fort Bend Education Foundation.


Other Award Honorees:

Distinguished Alumni Award

The late Roy Orbison

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Christopher Drake ('01)

The Eli Young Band -- Michael Eli Diaz ('04), James J. Young ('02), Jonathan Bradley Jones ('04) and Christopher J. Thompson ('04)

Outstanding Alumni Service Award

Michael Friedman ('72)

Ulys Knight Spirit Award

Ernie Kuehne ('66)


© Copyright 2011 - UNT Foundation - All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy