2014 Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards is an annual event that recognizes the outstanding achievement, service and support of UNT's alumni and friends.  This year, one of the Foundation's Board of Directors received an honor as well as the Geezle Fraternity which several Foundation Directors were members of.

Melisa Denis ('86, '86 M.S.)

Outstanding Alumni Service Award

Originally presented in 1974, this award honors individuals who have provided exceptional volunteer service to UNT.  Melisa is partner-in-charge of international executive services for KPMG - Dallas.  She serves on the UNT Foundation Board and the College of Business Advisory Board.  She and her husband, JF, were among those who lent philanthropic support to the construction of UNT's Business Leadership Building.

The Geezle Fraternity

Ulys Knight Spirit Award

Presented since 1975, this award is given to any individual or group that has made noteworthy efforts to sustain spirit among the UNT family.  The Geezle Fraternity counts among its members business and civic leaders, professional athletes, UNT regents, university professors and scores of coaches, athletic trainers, administrators and teachers; including former chairman of the UNT System Regents and Vice Chair of the UNT Foundation C. Dan Smith ('62), former Regents R.L. Crawford Jr. ('63) and C. Dean Davis ('53), current Regent Don Potts ('63), UNT Hall of Famer T.D. Parks ('61) and former NFL player Ray Renfro ('52)..  The Geezles were instrumental in installing "Spiriki," the bronze eagle statue at UNT's Apogee Stadium.  The name is an old fraternity greeting believed to be the combination of the words "spirit" and "kee," the cry of an attacking eagle. As a group, the Geezles have contributed nearly $4 million to UNT.

Other Award Honorees:

Distinguished Alumni Award

Terry L. Brewer ('65, '70 Ph.D.)

Ernest W. Kuehne Jr. ('66)

Peter Francis Weller ('70)

Distinguished Young Alumni Award

Graham Douglas ('05)

Gabriella Draney ('02)

Outstanding Alumni Service Award

C. Tait Cruse ('89)

Generations of Excellence Award

The Guerra Family

© Copyright 2011 - UNT Foundation - All Rights Reserved, Privacy Policy